Word of the Week: Nous

Writing

Word of the Week NousNous is a word that I’m not really familiar with, but I randomly picked it from the dictionary, and as a lover of words I’m always keen to learn new ones, so I’m intrigued to discover what the word means, and a little about its history.

It is a slang word that means “intelligence” or “common sense”, so it’s already a word that I feel I could be quite fond of, because there are many people in the world who lack nous!

The word came into the English language via philosophy in the 1670s, travelling from Greek.

Although not pronounced the same, the spelling of the word Nous also exists in French, translating to English as “us”, with the common term Entre Nous meaning “between ourselves”.

Leave a Reply

