Camp NaNoWriMo July 2013

Camp NaNoWriMo, Writing

Camp NaNoWriMoSo, I’m in that predicament again, as Camp NaNoWriMo approaches and I have to decide whether or not to participate. From past experience, I want to say outright “no”, because I never seem to take it as seriously as I do the November NaNoWriMo. However, since I’ll be turning 30 this November, I just know that I will not have enough free time to actually sit down and write for at least half of the month. It happened both last year, and in 2011, where I got left behind due to birthday celebrations, but as I say, this year I’m expecting to get distracted even more. Oh NaNoWriMo, why can you not be in October when my life is a little quieter – not December, because well, y’know December has Christmas and there’s no way I’m going to have the free time!

Therefore, it would appear that this year’s writing craziness is going to take place in the month of July.

This decision of course opens up the question: What am I going to write?

I know that the idea behind NaNoWriMo – in general – is to work on a new story. But, I hate following the rules and since I have so many novels in the works, I thought I should concentrate on finishing one of them, rather than adding another idea to the ever-expanding pile of “Not finished” ideas.

I actually have six stories currently in ongoing progress, and since I couldn’t decide which one to work on, I decided to write them all down on pieces of paper. The one I picked would be the one that I dedicated July to working on:

Stories on paper

And which one did I pick?

This one:

Felicity Camp NaNoWriMo

I don’t know why but I was a little surprised – in a good way – to pull Felicity out, because it’s the only story that I’ve worked on to the full 50,000 words during NaNoWriMo in 2011. I really love the story behind this one, but I’ve had an issue with a couple of the characters – well, one in particular, because I’ve never felt 100% happy with their personality etc. I’ve also had a few issues with confidence about a certain plot development that centres around this character, and I feel like I only added the plotline in the first place to give this character more meaning.

It’s funny, because I’ve always been of the conclusion that if you have trouble shaping a character, then it’s time to dump them. My problem is that he has too many connections within the story as a whole, I’d be left with an enormous hole without him. And that is when I realise that I’m not having as much trouble in reality, as I let myself believe.

So, yep, this is what the next thirty one days are going to be all about. I’m not doing the whole hog word count of 50,000 words, but rather, the nicer and lighter 15,000 words, which is still a challenge and I’m looking forward to it.

Wish me luck.

Good luck to everyone else taking part 🙂

Leave a Reply

