Random Scribblings #1

Writing

Okay, so I’ve realised (well, not really realised, but come to the conclusion) that I don’t blog here enough. It’s not that I don’t want to, it’s just that with a writing blog, I don’t know what to write about. And that, in itself just sounds absolutely ridiculous doesn’t it? How can someone who professes to write for a living, not know what to write about?

Well, I should point out a couple of things, first of all.

The first is that for my job, I write specific things, for specific clients and I’m ultimately writing fact-based, non-fiction sort of stuff. For this blog, I didn’t want to write about that. I wanted to focus more on my passion for writing fiction. Because, as much as I love writing blogs, articles etc (and I really do love doing that), writing fiction will always be where my heart is, and when you’re writing for a living, it becomes increasingly difficult to find the time, and even the space, to write fiction. So, I wanted to create a space where I could be open to creativity, get some fictional stuff out of my head.

Unfortunately, that hasn’t really gone to plan. Since NaNoWriMo, last November, I’ve written very little fiction, perhaps because I don’t have that much time (true) and perhaps because I don’t know what to write about (very true).  I think that with NaNoWriMo, you dedicate so much time to it, that eventually you’re just like “Whoa!” and really need to take time to step back from that a little bit.

I’m also struggling to get ideas out of my head, and down onto paper.

For a long time, I’ve had huge confidence issues with my work, in that I’m my own worst enemy and my own worst critic. I write something, think it’s good, re-read it, and decide that it’s rubbish. But, I think that that is the reason why NaNoWriMo works. It forces you into writing, and with such a tight deadline, it disables you from going back and reading, because that’s just wasting time.

Changing Subject slightly. When I was at College, trying to decide what to study at University, I’d begun to set my sights on studying Creative Writing. However, there’d always been this level of questioning whether I should or not, because at that stage, I was determined to keep my passion for writing as a hobby. I think that I’d just spent so long hearing people tell me that I’d never be able to make money out of my writing, that I’d just given up on the idea of even trying, and I’d settled into the faux happiness of keeping it as a hobby.

So, I ended up enrolling on a night course at my College, in Creative Writing, which is where we start to get back on target, with where this is going…

Basically, every week, we would always start the class in the exact same way, which was by literally just sitting there and writing non-stop for five whole minutes. It didn’t matter what we wrote, even if it was “This is boring!” or “I haven’t a clue what to write”, we were told to just write.

Obviously, I’m not going to do that, because you don’t want to read me writing “This is boring” for five minutes straight, because, well it’s not very interesting is it. Nope, once a week, I’m going to “try”, as in try to remember, to scour the net for something that inspires a trigger, and then I’m going to write about it, for roughly five minutes. If it sparks into something bigger great. If it encourages you to write something, even better! But, ultimately, my main goal with this is to just get writing.

I do have to say though, that it has been quite refreshing just to write this, on a blog that I feel like I’ve been neglecting. Writing anything, is most definitely better on the noggin’ than writing nothing!

One thought on “Random Scribblings #1

Leave a Reply

