Beauty Blogging and Photography

Photography

Hey Guys,

First of all, I just wanted to thank everyone for the amazing support that I received over my last blog! I hadn’t expected anything when I wrote it, other than to kind of explain why I’d been so quiet recently, so to say I was overwhelmed is a little bit of an understatement!

Anyway. Some of you might have noticed that I recently started using my own photography on my blog. Sure, they might not be the best photos ever taken, but it was quite important for me to start using my own, for several reasons, that I wanted to share with you guys.

Previously, I had been using official product images, and I really hated doing that for a couple of reasons:

  1. The obvious legal issues, that we won’t go into here
  2. There’s something nice about seeing a product in a more natural light. I guess, it’s kind of like photoshopping women in magazines, companies paint their products in a perfect light, and with some beauty products, like lipsticks and nail polishes, this doesn’t really represent a “true” depiction of what the product is really like!
  3. Using photos that I have taken shows you (my readers) the real evidence that I do own this product, that I have tried it, and I am speaking from experience.

Β The great thing about living in the times that we do, is that even if you haven’t worked a camera since you were seven, wasting film on pictures of the floor, half your little sisters head, your stuffed toys, the washing line, that’s not to say that you can’t create some amazing images.

This is of course, mainly down to the Digital Camera. So, whilst we once spent ages trying to take this perfect image, because the film only allowed us 24 pictures, and we just had to cross our fingers and hope for the best. Digital cameras allow us to snap multiples of the same item, from the same and different angles, and if one doesn’t work, who cares, because you probably have a hundred others to choose from. So, it’s quite likely that one of them is going to be okay (ish).

And hey, even if none of them are perfect, it still doesn’t matter, because you can just photoshop it to straighten things up, brighten the colour, remove things from the background etc.

I’m deliberately leaving this blog image-free to just show you how bland blogs are, if you don’t add images. Personally, I think they draw people in, and make people more likely to actually finish reading this blog.

Hehe, to test this out, and perhaps to prove me wrong, we shall see, if you have read all the way to the end of this blog, leave a comment saying “I’m a beautiful person!” πŸ˜‰

post signature

6 thoughts on “Beauty Blogging and Photography

  1. What about if you read the first couple of paras then skipped to the end like me? πŸ™‚ I went back and read it all after I promise!I was going to refuse to say it but on reflection – I am a beautiful person, despite my many flaws! πŸ˜€ Pretty images next time please! xx

  2. You are beautiful :)I think most people skip bits when they read anyway!And, thanks for the comment, I’ll definitely include pretty pictures in my next blog. This blog came as a result of taking pictures, so there’s no question that there will be some πŸ˜€

  3. Pictures do definitely make a more interesting read! I’m like you, I’ve been using stock images for quite a while now and only recently begun using my digital camera to take my own. It does take patience to get a good photo in natural lighting I must say since it’s still winter and it’s mostly dark :(Anyway Kat, I enjoy reading your blog so keep it up!

  4. I definitely know what you mean about bad lighting, I’m lucky enough to have just moved into a flat with an amazingly huge bay window, but even then, I still struggle with light!!Thanks for the comment, and I will definitely keep it up πŸ˜‰

  5. I don’t think natural exists even during the day, during these dark, miserable winters that we’ve been having LOL. But, I’ve managed to take some okay-ish picture using a really bright lamp. Unfortunately, with the government trying to get us all on energy saving bulbs, it takes ages for my bulbs to get bright enough!!I’ve never done it, but I know some bloggers who spend their weekends in the local park taking pictures of stuff in natural light!! I can just imagine the comments from the local chavs now!!

Leave a Reply

