Dictionary: Ophthalmologically Tested

Dictionary

Let’s be blunt, Ophthalmological (I hope I’ve spelt that right!) is a bit of a mouthful, but if like me you can’t spell (or say) it, you can blame the Greek for that! The word comes from the Greek “ophthalmos”, meaning (shock, horror) eye, and “logos”, meaning thought. Together, the term literally means “the science of eyes”. (Wikipedia)
The term (please don’t make me type it again), should be found on all products that are used around the eye area, so thing like:

  • Eyeliners
  • Mascaras
  • Eye Creams
  • Eye Gels
  • Eye Drops

should all be Ophthalmologically Tested, which means that they have been certified safe to use around the delicate area around the eye.

My Bourjois eyeliners are actually the first products that I’ve noticed this on, which makes me wonder how many beauty products really are tested effectively as safe, because I don’t know about you guys, but I always worry about the health of my eyes, especially since mine are so sensitive.

    post signature

    Enhanced by Zemanta
    Leave a Reply

    